How to stay in compliance with Labor Law Poster Requirements?
It’s simple, every Massachusetts employer with W-2 employees is required to post Labor Laws in a clearly visible place within their workplace. ConnectPay clients can purchase complete posters from us, or download all of the components separately from the HR portal on our website, free of charge.
Not a ConnectPay client? Learn more here:
The Massachusetts Fair Labor Division updated Wage and Hour Laws effective January 1, 2016:
- The minimum wage will increase to $10.00 per hour and $3.35 per hour for wait staff, service employees, and service bartenders who receive more than $20.00 a month in tips.
- The provisions on travel time and reporting pay have been removed from the posting and replaced with a provision for earned sick time and non-discrimination and equal pay.
- The Earned Sick Time provision provides that all employees have the right to earn up to forty (40) hours of sick time in a year (earned at 1 hour for every 30 hours worked). Sick time is paid if employers have 11 or more employees and may be unpaid if employers have 10 or fewer employees.
- The Non-Discrimination and Equal Pay provision provides that employers may not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, genetic information, age, ancestry, disability, or veteran or active military status.
- Every Mass employer with W-2 employees is required to post a Labor Law Poster in a clearly visible place within their workplace.
As a compliance first payroll company, ConnectPay wants to help you to make sure that you are in compliance with Federal and State rules. Particularly if you are doing payroll on your own, we offer a FREE REVIEW of your payroll administration to identify any areas you may not be compliant.